Back to Top
Events Calendar
Loading Events...
View full calendar

Haochen Zhang Replaces Yuja Wang on the March 11 Alumni Recital Series

Yuja Wang forced to withdraw due to a flight cancellation

(March 11, 2011) Haochen Zhang, winner of the 2009 Van Cliburn International Piano Competition, will replace Yuja Wang on the March 11 Alumni Recital Series performance. Ms. Wang has withdrawn due to a flight cancellation.

Twenty-year-old pianist Haochen Zhang is one of the youngest participants and the first Chinese recipient to be awarded the prestigious Nancy Lee and Perry R. Bass Gold Medal at the Thirteenth Van Cliburn International Piano Competition. Immediately following the competition, he embarked on a worldwide sixty-date tour over the 2009–10 season, with engagements that included a tour of Poland, recitals in Krakow and Lodz, Beijing Music Festival, Worldwide Chinese Festival Orchestra New Year’s Concert at the National Centre for the Performing Arts in Beijing, Carnegie Hall’s Neighborhood Concert Series, Aspen Festival, Washington Performing Arts Series, and the Hannover Prize Winners Series. In June 2010 he opened the summer season at the Mann Center for Performing Arts in Philadelphia, playing Tchaikovsky’s First Piano Concerto with the Philadelphia Orchestra.

He entered the Curtis Institute of Music in 2005 and studies with Gary Graffman. All students at Curtis receive merit-based full-tuition scholarships, and Mr. Zhang is the Harold and Helene Schonberg Fellow.

More information on Haochen Zhang
Van Cliburn Competition
IMG Artists Management

Press Contacts

Jennifer Kallend
Managing Director of External Affairs and Patron Engagement
(215) 717-3190

Diana Wensley
Communications Manager
(215) 717-3129

About Curtis

2017–18 Media Calendar of Events

News Archive

Fast Facts

Press Kit

Photo Gallery

Curtis Logos